Only Partly Uncensored

Authentic

In Mouthy Broad on June 14, 2011 at 9:39 am

In case you missed it because you live under a rock or something, there’s been a big stir lately about allegedly lesbian bloggers being “outed” (I use the term bitterly tongue-in-cheek) as actually being straight, middle-aged men.

I’m not linking anything here. First of all, I had nothing to do with either of these bloggers. Second, I don’t know how I feel about directing traffic to the sites on which they perpetuated their frauds.

I didn’t really follow either blog, but I’m not blind. I’d come across them before; I just didn’t keep reading.

The whole thing jeebs me out a little. Okay, not a little. The whole thing jeebs me the fuck right out of my skin.

I’ll grant that I may take it a little worse than someone else possibly would. I have spent the last year of my life recovering from the personal and professional damage of a Bernie Madoff-esque con woman who insinuated herself into every aspect of my life for her own personal gain. So I may be a bit touchier than most about people pretending to be something they aren’t.

But come the fuck on already.

I get that it’s the interwebz. I get that people can say whatever they want to say, and send it winging out into the ether. If you want to create a blog that’s a personal account and also happens to be entirely fictional (like I’ve seen before on a much smaller scale), then have at it.

But a non-psycho would have put a disclaimer into the title bar and disclosed the fictional nature of the content of the site.

These guys – both of them that have been in the news this week – are some sick puppies. They’ve created an entire online existence that is as far away from their personal realities as possible. Gender, sexual preference, even geographic locations were completely constructed from thin air. How many different personality disorders can you qualify for before you’re a certifiable medical miracle, anyway?

My heart breaks a little for those of you who invested in these asshats. I know how you feel – believe me.

And I’m sorry, beyond words, that you got taken for a ride. I’m angry, beyond words, that there’s some teenage kid out there now who feels like their entire life has been invalidated because one of these two cocksuckers was something they’d found online about being a dyke that resonated with them.

I hope there is a way to prosecute them. And I really, truly hope that, someday, they wake up to the realization of exactly what was wrong about what they did.

If they really are human, the weight of that alone will bring them to their knees.

  1. Clearly, I have been living under a rock. Either that or wedding planning is getting in the way of my news intake. Wow. I have no idea who these asshats are but yeah, I’m with you, skeeved beyond belief. Also…quite authentic here as well. Yowza. 😦

    • *lol* Wedding planning is an acceptable reason for having your head buried under granite.

      The two causing all the furor are from “A Gay Girl in Damascus” and “Lez Get Real.” AGGID apparently has damn near caused an actual international incident, and LGR (because the site has several actual bloggers who contribute pieces, including erotica) has half the blogosphere turned ass-over-teakettle.

      The whole thing is revolting.

  2. I don’t know what it is about the male mind. Why do so many of them get a kick out of pretending to be women online? The world is a perplexing place.

    • I’m not sure, but these two aren’t the first total fakes I’ve come across, online or off. There are probably all kinds of awesome psychological terms that can be applied here, but in my personal experience, the one word that sums up not only these two phonies but everyone else whose engages in this kind of deception is “sociopath.”

Leave a Reply

