Only Partly Uncensored

Grownup

In Q & A, Where I'm Going on June 20, 2011 at 7:57 am

Since I kicked my little feet and held my breath until someone, anyone, gave me a writing prompt, I guess I better start with the answers to my newest reader questions!

FYI: I’m only going to answer one at a time, but I’ll get to them all. And, like always, I’ll link the questions and the responses in Q & A.

Today’s question brought to you directly from the keyboard of the beautiful Femme Fairy Godmother, long one of my very favorite bloggers and now, because I’m so lucky, an awesome friend, too.

So, let’s see … tell us …. what you wanna be when you grow up.

When I grow up, I wanna be a grownup. I want to feel like it’s completely unremarkable that I have an eight year old, a nine year old, a ten year old kid. I want it to stop feeling strange that I make house payments and car payments and have a telephone that rings in the kitchen. I want to know that I’m right (because grownups are always right, aren’t they?) and be sure of what I should do next.

When I grow up, I want to be a professor at a real college. One of the old ones, where there’s stone buildings that get covered in ivy, and walking paths, and beautiful libraries where knowledge is stored lovingly, not just warehoused. I want to get paid for my words: speaking and written both. I want to interact with people who are on their own way to being grownups, and give them what I have to offer, with whatever wisdom I have managed to piece together by then.

When I grow up, I want my voice to be heard and to matter. I want to write not just what I know but what I imagine, and I want it to be good. I want to be the female version of Michael Tillman in Robert Waller’s Slow Waltz at Cedar Bend – only without the ridiculous romantic drama, of course.

When I grow up, I want my children to tell their children that I’m a hard worker, that I took care of them, that they can learn a lot from me.

When I grow up, I want to be a mom, a wife, a teacher, a writer… and if I’m lucky, and try really hard, a good person, too.

  1. Sounds like the best thing – you want to be who you already are, only a little career change. 🙂

Leave a Reply

