Only Partly Uncensored

Unthinking

In Mouthy Broad on January 30, 2013 at 7:00 am

The very first post of TSOC went up on January 26, 2009. If you type that date into Wikipedia, or Google, you’ll learn that there was a solar eclipse, a downturn in the job market, and a war beginning in Malagasy.

What a day.

I never would have believed that I would document (most some of) four years of my life in a blank white box on a computer screen. Much less that the documentation would include meeting the love of my life, watching my career implode, seeing an ex survive an unsurvivable diagnosis, helping imprison a woman I hero-worshipped, or trying and failing and trying again to be this thing they call a writer.

In the grand scheme of things, I suppose that the beginning of one more little blog, by one more little woman trying to make sense of a very big and very crazy world isn’t really much to shout about.

But looking at it from that perspective grossly undervalues what blogging has brought into my life.

I have four years of evidence that I was here, that I had a voice and an opinion and the guts to send that voice out into the void, wondering what I would get back.

That’s priceless.

So this is my love letter to TSOC, for the sanity and hilarity and tragedy that it encompasses, and the lessons I’ve learned along the way.

  1. and we are so glad you did…

  2. You also got me! 🙂 And a number of other friends you wouldn’t have met without this blog. We’re so glad that you did!

Leave a Reply

